Daily Archives: February 23, 2012

The CHOICES one has with Linux Mint 12

the light theme

 

 

As you can see there are CHOICES one of my friends is gonna get a kick out of me saying that!

 

the dark theme

 

 

 

Yeah I know I have already written about this release here but now that  I have spent more time working with Linux Mint 12 I am even happier than before. And one of the reasons I am so happy is that Virtualbox  is already added by default as well as VLC media player because those are two of my favorite programs to use so for them to be on here is awesome!! (I will be writing posts about these two later.)

I must say the more and more  that I learn about this release the more impressed I become and I have something to say to the man responsible for this:

“Clem, you are truly a genius. After all instead of shoving Unity down our throats, or Gnome 3 you give the users FREE choice to use the desktop that they choose and choice is made available whether they preferred Gnome 2 in that case they can use Mate or Cinnamon, whereas if they are fine with Gnome 3 then they still have lots of customization options thanks to MGSE  (Mint Gnome Shell Extensions) which I feel is such an important thing in the world of Linux.

After all, isn’t that the point of using open-source software in the first place? To have choices? Unlike some proprietary companies that put gates on the windows. Or they have their walled in orchard. LOL!! To not to be shoehorned into what a particular proprietary company wants but to do what WE want to do. I recall listening to Richard Stallman last night while watching the movie “Revolution OS” and him being diametrically opposed to not having choices.  In fact he quit his job at MIT so he could devote because he did not like the changes being pushed onto him.

Now this isn’t to bash Ubuntu or any other distro, of course but just goes to show how much variety is available on Linux even when you break it down by flavors. In fact even with Ubuntu one can install Cinnamon on there so ultimately its no big deal really.

Here are some of the backgrounds available

 

Awesome backgrounds

 

That one with the palm leaf is really nice, I have it on one of my PCs at home.

Check these links here and here