How to run Blender headless (from the command line, without the GUI)

Wow! what a great idea. I just need to now how to do this in Linux

Caret Dash Caret

Today I decided to roll up my sleeves and figure out how to run Blender headless. I’ve been telling people that it’s possible (based on documentation), but haven’t tried it out myself.

Until now!

It’s actually pretty simple. Here are some steps. I’m on a Mac, so the paths might be slightly different if you’re on another operating system (check out these instructions for for Windows).

1. Figure out the path of the Blender executable. If you’ve ran the Blender console window before, it’s the same executable.

To find it via GUI, open up where the downloaded Blender zip was extracted.

Blender package

On a Mac, show package contents and navigate to the blender executable.

Blender executable

Actual path:

(I currently have the extracted Blender 2.74 package on the Desktop for simplicity so my path reflects that.)

2. Run the executable with the -b argument to run Blender without the GUI. You can…

View original post 179 more words

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

