Anthony finds more Persimmon trees

 

Yes, we’re gonna start on a bad note, like Reuben Studdard once said:

I’m Sorry!!

I am sad to report the lost of two Persimmon trees that once existed along a fence of Nicholas Orem Middle School in Hyattsville, Maryland. There was once a small playground there and the two trees were close to each other and I recall them bearing fruit during the winter. These are the two trees that I spoke of in a previous post, and going to the area years later I could see that where they were was nothing but a large expanse of mud. The small church/school that was once next door was now a large Montessori school. I used to live in the area right down the street so I would walk by them pretty often but for somehow I never thought to collect the fruit and plant the seeds, for then my project would have been in full swing a long time ago.

Although not exactly in a galaxy far, far, far, far, far away

Now that you have heard the bad news, let me share with you some good news: Not far from Prince Georges Plaza station there are six Persimmon trees with lots and lots of fruit. Its funny since I came across those trees over ten years ago before the building of a mall when that was just a large parking lot. I only remember one or two trees but once I saw them I decided to look around and to my surprise there were 4 more each appeared to be planted in twos. This made sense because the Persimmon is a tree that needs another one nearby in order to be properly pollinated.

Thankfully I was able to collect several pounds of Persimmon fruit. They are safely in my refrigerator and soon I will separate the pulp from the seeds and store them to stratify in the fridge over the winter. Once the winter is over, I will remove them and plant the seeds in some seed trays where hopefully they will germinate. In addition to the ones I sprout at home, I will be planting the seeds at a number of locations. In fact, this reminds me that I ought to label the location that I collected the Persimmons as well as time of year and pictures of the tree if possible.

I am choosing to do that with the goal of encouraging genetic diversity among the resulting seedlings. Since I have hundreds of seeds already and more to be collected over the winter there will be no shortage of Persimmon trees in the years to come. Your gonna like this project:

I guarantee it!!

Other locations where I have been pleasantly surprised to find Persimmon trees are in the Takoma neighborhood of DC, near the Takoma Aquatic Center. As well as Along Canal Rd in Northwest DC adjacent to the Palisades neighborhood. There are several persimmon trees growing along a stone wall, the best way to reach the fruit would actually involve going in the water to the narrow strip of land that is between the wall and a bike/walk trail.

One day while walking around minding my business, near 16th st. I came across a……you guessed it yet another Persimmon tree. It looked rather lonely sitting all there all by itself so I told her that you’ve got a friend in me.

Outstanding!!

Hopefully there are more trees to be found and lots more fruit to collect. So stay tuned for more updates on that as I assure you it will be something like a phenomenon.

 

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

