Kolibri OS: A diminutive surprise

kolibri1

One thing that is pretty widely known about hummingbirds is that they are very, very fast. They are also very, very lightweight. I recall one time watching in horror as one flew into a glass window and plummeted three stories to the ground.

I was sure that it was going to be a goner and yet somehow, someway, some shape, some form it was still alive. In fact, its heart was still beating at what appeared to be a million miles a second. I remember its beautiful plumage and just being rather concerned about its future. More about that here.

Despite this being several years ago the scene plays like reed that were wound around my head.

It is as the result of the above characteristics that the Kolibri operating system is so very, very well named. I was to find this out for myself just a few minutes ago, when I loaded it up into VirtualBox and gave it 512 MB of RAM to work with. In fact the download for it was only 14 and a half MB, rather than the hundreds of Megabytes that I was used to with Linux and way more when obtaining Windows. Even Puppy Linux was a little more than 100 MB for comparison.

I digress!!!

Instantaneously I was greeted with the desktop and I promise that it was NOT “just my imagination”.

Once again!!!

The first thing I did was use a program called “tinypad” and boy, did it live up to it’s name. Then I played “snake”. If that game brings up ancient memories then that would make sense because I was playing a version of that game way back in 1995 on a Packard Bell.

kilibri menu

If you look at the left side of the screen and you go there with your mouse you are presented with different options, one of them being the familiar terminal. Something that caught my attention that I really wasn’t expecting was an IRC chat client.

kolibriirc kolibriirc

I guess I should have known better!!

Looking at the bottom right corner you will see several games such as the aforementioned “snake” and “checkers”. I was wondering where the rest of the games were and all I had to do was scroll down and more were visible. Going to the lower left side was familiar looking menu, this was what I was looking for in the first place, but I’m not gonna be a brat about it.

In the games section I was very, very surprised to see the bounteous bounty of games for an operating system of such a diminutive size. Yes, most of them will likely be familiar to you and will not have the 3d graphics that kids have been spoiled with now but they are still pretty cool just the same.

Whew this has ended up being quite an interesting look at Kolibri OS but I am getting tired so you’ll have to check me out the next time I decide to write about it.

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

