PAE might prove to be useful to me

Recently I decided to get more RAM for my laptop, and I spoke about that in the posts whose links are available at the bottom of this one.

At the time I learned that since I have a 32-bit system, I would be limited to about 3.2 GB RAM that can be used.

Say it isn’t so!!!

Well, hopefully I can, because I just installed a pae kernel. Which raises a very good question:

Whats pae?

Well, PAE stands for Physical Address Extension.  It allows a person running a 32-bit system to be able to use more than the 3.2 GB limitation.

Theoretically it means that I could install lots and lots of RAM and still be able to use it, at the same time while it would be useful for something like virtual machines as an example, it still wouldn’t be so practical as far as cost is concerned.  Not to mention that most programs wouldn’t even be able to take full advantage of it anyway.

Well, after installing pae I found that my above observation of only having access to 3.2 GB of RAM was true so pretty much I got 700MB more than I had before but really 800 MB is wasted.

in the words of Beavis and Butthead:

beavisbutthead

 

 

 

 

posts https://swift110.wordpress.com/2013/08/20/ram-ram-ram/.

https://swift110.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/time-to-get-more-memory-part-2/

2 thoughts on “PAE might prove to be useful to me

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

