Childhood memories and Persimmons in DC Part 2

 

Please forgive the picture quality

Please forgive the picture quality

Remember when I said that I had a surprise for you?  Well look above and you can see exactly what it is.  Just last week I was out for a walk and came across two familiar Persimmon trees.  Not really all that surprising at all.  But what I saw on the trees was something that made my jaw drop.

Ripe fruit in September!!!

But i thought they only fruited in the wintertime I exclaimed, but there they were, those beautiful orbs of sheer goodness.  An intensely sweet flavor that is even better when still warm from the sun.

Some kind of wonderful!!!

One of the trees kind of had a lean to it, not because of a bounteous bounty of fruit on its branches but just a lean.  I just hope that it doesn’t mean that  the tree is on the way down any time soon.

bigpersimmonbark

That would be a real bummer!!

Once upon a time, a bit over a decade ago  I knew of a lone persimmon tree in Hyattsville, MD in Heurich park, it just stood in the middle of the grass.  Unfortunately not long afterward the tree was gone it had likely fallen in a storm. I was curious if its seeds would indeed be fertile since there wasn’t another Persimmon tree in the general vicinity.

Goodness I miss that tree

That tree was quite interesting as it appeared to be the only one of its kind, good thing it wasn’t because there was one or two more trees not very far from it next to Nicholas Orem Middle School. I distinctly remember seeing fruit on the trees only in the wintertime.  I hope that those trees are still there as recent construction may have destroyed them so I will have to check it out and see if they still remain.

So now it makes sense that I would quite surprised to see the ripe persimmons in September.  It made me curious as to whether or not there will still be fruit on the same trees in December 2013 to January of 2014.  Also, will it be both trees bearing fruit at that time or just one like I saw last year.

Time will tell, apparently.

 

 

One thought on “Childhood memories and Persimmons in DC Part 2

  1. Pingback: Anthony finds more Persimmon trees | anthonyvenable110

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

