How to buy your plants from the big box stores

Awesome post. A number of my plants over the years came from big box stores so this was right on point

The Garden Frog

Many of my shade loving plants were off the markdown racks Many of my shade loving plants were off the markdown racks

So you have been told that buying from Lowe’s or Home Depot is a NO-NO. Why?

My beautiful Magnolia My beautiful Magnolia

I buy from there all the time and have for years. As a matter of fact, 75% of my yard is filled with revived beauties from the markdown racks. Another 20% of my beautiful bounty is from rescuing what others throw out because it did not thrive or they thought they killed them. The other 5% of my yard is splurge, yes, I have bought a few things full price but off hand I cannot name what plants they were.

I have a 14′ hx 8’w Magnolia I bought wilted and pathetic off the markdown rack 4 years ago as a 4′ stick in a pot with only a few leaves (but when I scratched all the branches they were…

View original post 1,570 more words

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

