A Morning Visitor

I love Box Turtles

Nina's Nature Diary

This morning as I practiced tai chi chuan in the carport, I discovered that I was not alone!

DSCF0845

This lovely Eastern Box Turtle (Terrapene carolina carolina) was watching me from the sidelines. She (I think it was a female, as they have brown eyes, whereas the eyes of the male are red, according to this article in Wikipedia) did not seem afraid and did not pull her head and legs into her shell. (I have observed many times before that wild animals seem interested and unafraid when I am doing tai chi. The slow movements seem to attract them.) She did not flinch when I stopped to admire her beautiful markings and take her picture.

DSCF0847DSCF0849

Eventually, she began to move. She seemed to be looking for a way off the carport, but could not figure out how to do it, as there were several steps and…

View original post 43 more words

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

