I killed the Mac Pro

 

RPtoVsV

One day I had a great idea, or so I thought. I thought if I just take one of my hard drives that already has Linux installed onto it and put it in the Mac Pro that maybe just maybe I could get it to run.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t that simple

Ok, no big deal. I would just take that hard drive out and try with a different distro another day. But while the case was open I saw there was dust inside the Mac, and rather than doing the smart thing of blowing it out I like a moron decided to wipe the GPU with a cloth.

Bad move, I know I know!!

I close the case still not knowing that when I restarted it that it would no longer work. I would start it up and nothing would show up on the screen. The power light would come on as normal and then the fans would come on gradually increasing in intensity until they are going full blast.

So, I decided to open the case and inspect the components on the inside. I looked at the RAM, and the GPU. When I looked at the GPU I noticed that one of the capacitors was leaning slightly, reminiscent of the tower of Pisa.

The one to the left is what I noticed

The one to the left is what I noticed

I immediately figured that since the GPU card was damaged that it could be the reason for my troubles. So I decided to go on Reddit and irc with my issues, and while I got some very good suggestions I was unable to diagnose the problem myself. As it turns out my problem could be simply the GPU or it could be even more.

I just have no idea at this point., and at the very least I hope that my display is not damaged although that is highly unlikely. I would simply test that idea with my other computers but I can’t do that because of Geniuses. I would need to have a special connector to the hdmi port of my Gateway PC and then still have a special video card to run it on top of all that.

Talk about a lot of hassle. I don’t see a good reason to jump through all those hoops and as a result I have yet another reason to simply sell the Mac Pro. I could go on and on but I have decided to do a part 2 so stay tuned for that for its coming up soon.

 

 

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

