Installing Ubuntu 12.04 LTS on an Asus eee pc 901

I thought that some of you could benefit from this

Samuel Kontiomaa

There are a few ways to install a new os on an eee pc but I believe that the easiest way is the following I did:

What I used:

1. Asus eee pc 901 with Ubuntu 11.10

2. Kingston 8gb DataTraveller (smaller will do of course)

3. ubuntu-12.04-desktop-i386.iso

How I did it:

I downloaded the iso-file from ubuntu’s website at http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop

[UPDATE] Ubuntu 12.04 might be slow on the older eee pc’s like my 901 so you might want to try Xubuntu instead http://xubuntu.org/getxubuntu/ The installation should be the same as on the basic Ubuntu version.

after that I plugged my usb to the laptop and started the Startup Disc Creator -program which is defaultly installed on ubuntu.

I clicked the “Other…” button and located the downloaded iso file.

I checked that the creator used my Kingston on the “Disc to use:” option.

Next part doesn’t really matter which one…

View original post 383 more words

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

