Anthony gets a new(er) laptop Part 1

x201

Recently I got a new(er) laptop. I say newer because its not exactly new. In fact, it came out in 2010. Still, it is quite a bit more updated than my Fujitsu Lifebook 4215 from 2006 is.

Well duh!!

For one, it has an Intel Core i5 CPU 2.53 GHz in it, which is a far cry from Core2duo 1.83 GHz. I also currently have installed 4 GB of RAM, and while it is the upper limit for my Lifebook, it only represents half of what can be installed on this laptop.  I also have the option of putting in an SSD which from what I hear would speed things up a whole lot.

Not bad eh?

my Lifebook

my Lifebook

The new laptop (to me) is the Lenovo x201. Immediately what I noticed is that it is considerably lighter than the lifebook, which is a convertible laptop. This means that it can be used as a tablet if I so desire although I tend to only use that function in GIMP.

I decided on the x201 partly because of its small size as I commented on above. I just picked them both up at the same time and I could tell the difference in weight. As it turns out, it over a pound difference between them. Which doesn’t sound like much but it really is.

🙂

The aspect ratio of the lifebook is 4:3 whereas the x201 is 16:10, so one is taller than the other. Can you guess which one? The lifebook has a 1024×768 resolution while the x201 has 1200×800. To compare the two in that regard well they are quite different. One having what I consider a warmer yellow glow to the screen while the x201 is whiter and brighter.

To be honest, I much prefer the Lifebook. It does have a nice square screen where the other one is rectangular, its wider but shorter as well. I guess it will take time to get used to it. I tell ya. what…I’ll turn off the light and see if it makes a difference for there is a yellow glow from the light above.

Nope not a difference, cause this ain’t a blockbuster video!

You know how you get started writing about something and you realize its a whole lot, and then you decide to just split into smaller parts?  Well that just happened.  So be on the look out for part 2 its coming up soon.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Anthony gets a new(er) laptop Part 1

    1. anthonyvenable110 Post author

      Adrian, they really are. I did a lot of reading before I decided on the x201. Plus it helped that I was able to pick it up locally. Do you own any?

      Reply
      1. Adrian

        Unfortunately I’ve never owned a Thinkpad, however I was really thinking about purchasing a Thinkpad or a system76 laptop before I decided on my Macbook Pro in 2012.

        Reply
          1. Adrian

            I still love my Macbook Pro even though Apple seems to make you jump through hoops before you can successfully install Linux on the newer models. I believed I covered why I decided to purchase my Macbook in it’s own blog post back in 2012. But over all, for me personally, I like Apples build quality for their devices. However, the System76 Darter UltraThin intrigues me. I wouldn’t mind purchasing one of those even for a second laptop if I for some reason can’t part with owning a Macbook.

          2. anthonyvenable110 Post author

            Cool Adrian. You may like whats available at thinkpenguin.com. let me know what u think about them.

  1. Pingback: Anthony gets a new(er) laptop part 2 | anthonyvenable110

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

