The wonderful Persimmon

English: Ripe American Persimmons (Diospyros v...

English: Ripe American Persimmons (Diospyros virginiana / Ebenaceae) fruits in Tampa, Florida. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have a life that never ceases to be interesting. Sometimes being random really makes for a wonderful time.  Here is one of them:

It was the Saturday before last, a rather mild day for late December.  My sister was spending some time with me and I was trying to think of something to do that day.  It just so happened that the day was going to be nearly 70 degrees so there was absolutely no way I was going to let it go to waste.

I am so glad I didn’t!!

So on the way to Walmart to pick up some groceries, I decided rather randomly to phone as brother since I had an idea.  He picked up and while it seemed like an eternity for him to get to my house he got there and we were on our merry way.

While we were walking my memories started pouring in, since I hadn’t been to that particular park since I was about fourteen years old.

Yes it had been a long time, long time

Boy was I rewarded when I came across this familiar looking tree with rough bark.   Happy to say it was an American Persimmon tree (diospyros virginiana).

What made that day so interesting was that it was the perfect time to find the ripe fruits on the tree.  They are only edible when they are completely ripe so timing was indeed everything.

So all three of us stood around the tree and I started talking about it. I was clearly in my element and boy did it show.  Ah, good times.

I directed their attention to the rough texture of the bark and then up to the golden orbs dangling above.  They were too high to reach, so I started to look in the grass for any of the fallen fruit.

Surprise!!

I saw a fruit just laying there, and believe me it wasn’t the prettiest thing in the world as the skin was quite shriveled, but I am happy to say that what I saw was not what I got.

Ha!

So I proceeded to pick up the fruit and bite into it, its sweet goodness absolutely melted and excited my taste buds, the flavor reminiscent of figs maybe very soft and the flesh of it was orange.  After I tasted it , I offered a piece to my brother

To my surprise he  tasted it and said it was good.  I was so expecting him to complain about it but he didn’t.  Then I offered another piece to my sister but she did not partake of it.  She said…..”I’m not eating fruit off the ground!!!

Oh well, at least I tried to share

Inside the fruit there were three seeds that I made sure to save so that I could plant them later.  Now that I think about it, I am not sure where they are.  I would sure hate to have lost them.  Of course, it would mean that I have to go back or perhaps find out where other trees are growing.  I can’t go today but if you’ll gimme just a little more time then more persimmons will grow.

And I wanna thank ya, thank ya thank ya!!!

Goodness, just thinking about it is making me hungry but I don’t need you to peel me a grape…..

I would rather have a Persimmon fruit instead.  Based on this wonderful experience  understand completely its scientific name of diospyros virginiana, which literally means:  Fruit of the god’s.

Truly this was truly a time when my randomness really paid off!!

 

3 thoughts on “The wonderful Persimmon

  1. Pingback: Childhood memories and Persimmons in DC | anthonyvenable110

  2. Pingback: Childhood memories and Persimmons in DC Part 2 | anthonyvenable110

  3. Pingback: Anthony finds more Persimmon trees | anthonyvenable110

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

