Replacing HDD and Adding SSD and RAM to an Acer Aspire V3-772G-9829 Laptop

awesome!!

Ray Woodcock's Latest

I had a new Acer Aspire V3-772G-9829.  This post discusses how I configured its hardware.

The 772G came with a 5400 RPM hard drive; I ordered a replacement 7200 RPM HGST Travelstar drive.  I planned to hold the original drive for a while, in case I wanted to return the Acer; eventually, I thought I might sell it with the unwanted virgin Windows 8 preloaded, to anyone who would actually want that operating system.  I also ordered a Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300 2.5″ solid state drive (SSD).

Clipboard01

I didn’t order RAM at this point; I had to investigate the possibilities, and Acer’s product webpage and hard-to-find support page weren’t making that too clear.  Later, when I had installed CPU-Z, I was able to take the screenshot shown here.  Its output seemed to agree with the Crucial System Scanner:  Crucial was steering me toward DDR3-1600 PC3-12800 RAM, CL=11…

View original post 2,541 more words

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

