Time to get more memory part 2

photo (1)

 

Today, I got so excited about getting new memory that I decided to install it while on the subway. After all, “no time like the present”. So I turned the laptop on and started up Windows 7. I then used a program called Speccy and saw that only one of my 2 GB RAM sticks was properly installed.   Then I switched to Linux Mint 13 and used System Monitor and got the same thing.

What a bummer!

 OK, no problem, I just tried it again a bit later, and so I started writing this post. To be honest with you, I am really hoping that everything is OK with the RAM, after all, I do not relish the idea of having to go back to the store to get a replacement. The good thing is that I have extra warranty on this thing so we’ll just see how it goes.

 

I’ll find out exactly what’s the scenario soon, in the meantime I am anxious to get it over with.

 

I wrote this last week by the way, and I actually re installed the 2nd stick of RAM and I am proud to announce…….wait for it……wait for it……

It worked!!!!

Problem is: I wouldn’t be able to take full advantage of it all due to my operating systems being 32-bit. So I only have 3.2 GB that are available for use. I thought it was just that simple but as the world turns, that wouldn’t be the case. You see, the limitations are not only from a software point of view but apparently from a hardware one as well because when I loaded up a Live DVD of Linux Mint 15 that was 64-bit. I got the same thing. Only 3.2 GB of RAM was available.

Talk about a wild discovery!!

OK, so I only have added 700 MB of useful memory to my laptop, I should probably care but I actually don’t. So what if I am pretty much wasting 800 MB of RAM! Big hairy scary deal.

Maybe it’s just wishful thinking, but I do notice a slight improvement in speed overall. I don’t use swap nearly so much anymore, and I guess that’s cool and all. Maybe it was worth it.

Alright, you got me, I was a bit blown when I realized what I just told you, and I even contemplated taking the 2 GB back and getting a 1 GB RAM stick instead. Then I would only be wasting 200 MB instead of 800 MB.

Yeah right! Not gonna happen!

photo

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Time to get more memory part 2

  1. Pingback: RAM, RAM, RAM!!!! | anthonyvenable110

  2. Pingback: PAE might prove to be useful to me | anthonyvenable110

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

