Would I ever switch back to Windows?

LINUX_by_zachk

This question came up recently on tuxradar.com.  The question was:  Do you see yourself switching back to Windows or Mac?

Hmm, good question. Isn’t it?

Well, as I started to answer it in the comment section I came to realize that I had a lot to say.  So much in fact I was like…..”I could just make this a blog”.

And so I did!!!!

Its been nearly three years since I got started with Linux and now I use it at least 90% of the time.   I have found that virtually everything I did on Windows, I can do in Linux with much less hassle.

In all the time I have worked with Linux I have never, ever had a virus or anything of that nature to infect my equipment.  Nor have I experienced a blue screen of death.

Talk about a relief!!!

If a particular distro goes in a direction that I don’t like…for example Ubuntu, then I can abandon ship and go to another one.  At anytime as many times as I like.

If I don’t like the way the desktop environment looks, I can tweak it to my heart’s content, or I can even get another one.

It’s just that easy!!!

I don’t ever have to worry about signing some legal agreement whenever I get a piece of software that specifically tells me not to share it with others, and is also something that isn’t really mine it’s something I borrow.  In Linux, its like this: “They’ll have theirs, and you’ll have yours, and I’ll have mine”.

And together we’ll be fine.

Never have I used the command-line so much.  That is, until I started using Linux.  Even in that case there are different options available to download software.  I can use the Terminal, I can use the Ubuntu Software Center or Synaptic to get what I want.

Besides, it’s been so long since I started with Linux that it’s feels right….so right….like paradise.

So my answer is:  No I would never switch back to Windows!!!

Never, never, never!!!!

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

