Power saving in Ubuntu

masxio

First: a disclaimer: some parts of this post are obscure to me… likely they will be to you!

Second: this post is about power saving with Ubuntu GNU / Linux 12.04 (aka precise pangolin)

Third: Discrete VS integrate graphic card post is using some concepts in this post… if you are not coming from there you should read it.

Fourth: if you are not coming from Discrete VS integrate graphic card you should take a look and read it (quickly).

Well, my problem was that my Linux box: Asus N53 SV running Ubuntu 12.04 did not turn off the discrete graphic card when on battery consuming the it very quickly. Ah… active desktop manager is unity (not gnome shell). Searching among system setting did not get me anything interesting. So I started to find manual / ad-hoc solution.

Keyword I remembered was acpi.

So I started to search and fell…

View original post 385 more words

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

