A childhood outdoors

IMG_20121107_143720

Ever since I was a little kid I have loved being outdoors.  Living near Rock Creek Park in Washington DC meant that I had lots and lots of opportunities to enjoy being around the trees and wildlife of the area.

I will never forget the happiness I felt in such an environment, away from the hustle and bustle of urban life.

You see I was never the child that was really into sports, or playing video games really.  I much preferred to be outside.  Watching the squirrels chase each other or curiously look at you apparently hoping you will have food for them.  The ducks in the water of various species:  Mallards with the male having the green head, while the female is a brown color.   The Wood ducks once again the male having a brightly colored head (in fact it is brighter than that of the mallard).

I also loved seeing the ferns, the fish in the water, and red-backed salamanders.  These are indeed a few of my favorite things.

I will never forget one time I was nine years old and I was walking with my best friend Archie,  I was talking to him about the future Paradise, a time when the whole earth would be restored to that that was given to our first parents in the Garden of Eden.

A time of peace, not just for a temporary time but for all time indeed.

I so look forward to such a time and my appreciation for Creation in general has developed so much thanks to my childhood spent outdoors.  I think that it is so important to have such a connection with nature and to experience its beauty on a regular basis.  As a result I share such things with my sister, and she enjoys it, this is something that brings much joy to my heart.

IMG_20121103_174734

IMG_20121107_145534

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A childhood outdoors

  1. Pingback: A childhood outdoors | anthonyvenable110

  2. Pingback: Interesting animals found in Rock Creek Park | anthonyvenable110

  3. Pingback: Lovely walk in May part 1 | anthonyvenable110

  4. Pingback: I haven’t forgotten about you | anthonyvenable110

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

